Active Directory – or centralized user management – is standard in many companies today. Users log on with their user names and passwords once to access most programs without having to log on multiple times. Such authentication is very secure and convenient because the user is only required to log on once, and IT is not required to constantly assign new passwords. This time-saving convenience should also be available when using the cloud.

Managed Single-Sign-On connects the local user directory with the Microsoft Cloud or Azure user directory, ensuring access to documents, programs and other data in the cloud. Managed Single-Sign-On is specifically operated as ADFS, or Active Directory Federation Services. It is designed to be redundant – there’s also a domain controller in the cloud to ensure that access to all data is possible even without a local server connection.

We can set up this service in a short period of time. It is billed per user and per month, and is supported entirely by utilitas. It offers a guaranteed availability of 99.9% SLA (Service Level Agreement).

Active Directory – oder auch: zentrale Nutzerverwaltung – ist heute Standard in vielen Unternehmen. Nutzer melden sich einmal an ihrem PC an und können anschließend auf die meisten Programme zugreifen, ohne sich erneut mit Benutzername und Passwort anzumelden. Eine solche Authentifizierung ist sehr sicher und komfortabel, weil der Nutzer sich nur einmal anmelden muss und die IT nicht laufend neue Passwörter vergeben muss. Dieser Komfort soll auch bei der Cloud-Nutzung erhalten bleiben.

Das Managed Single-Sign-On vernetzt das lokale Nutzerverzeichnis mit dem Nutzerverzeichnis der Microsoft Cloud bzw. Azure und stellt den Zugriff auf Dokumente, Programme und weitere Daten in der Cloud sicher. Im Microsoft Rechenzentrum wird Managed Single-Sign-On ganz konkret als ADFS betrieben, also Active Directory Federation Services. Es ist redundant ausgelegt – in der Cloud befindet sich ebenfalls ein Domain Controller – sodass der Zugriff auf sämtliche Daten auch ohne Verbindung zum lokalen Server möglich ist.

Der Dienst kann kurzfristig eingerichtet werden, wird pro Nutzer und Monat abgerechnet und komplett von utilitas betreut. Er bietet eine garantierte Verfügbarkeit von 99,9 % SLA (Service Level Agreement).